All Day Closure
Dickson County Schools will be closed tomorrow, Thursday, February 2nd due to inclement weather. Snow cares will also be closed due to icy conditions.

Dickson County Schools

Every Student Every Day

Home  >  Parents and Students...  >  Student Enrollment  >  Pre-K Enrollment Inf...
PreK Crayons
The first day of Pre-K for the upcoming 2022 - 2023 school year is Monday, August 15, 2022.

Dickson County Schools currently offers two early childhood programs. Both programs are state certified and implement the Tennessee Early Learning Developmental Standards (TN-ELDS).
Peer Program
The Preschool Peer Program is a Pre-K program that provides services for children with disabilities and typically developing peers, who are three (3) or four (4) years old, on or before August 15th of the current school year. The program is free for students with disabilities. The cost for peers to attend is $15 a week. A typical peer models appropriate speech, language, social, and behavior skills, for children with delays in the classroom. All peers must be toilet-trained to participate in the program. Peers must also have transportation to/from the school. This program runs Monday-Friday, from 8:00-1:30. Peers may be asked to participate in a developmental screening prior to acceptance into the program. 

The Peer Program is offered at Centennial Elementary School, Charlotte Elementary School, Oakmont Elementary School, and White Bluff Elementary School.

Voluntary Pre-K Program
The Voluntary Pre-K (VPK) program provides an all-day early childhood education program for “at risk” four-year old children, in accordance with the Tennessee Voluntary Pre-K Scope of Services and Chapter 0520-12-01 Standards for School Administered Child Care Programs. For more information, parents may visit: Enrollment in the VPK Program follows state guidelines for the Tier qualifications. Please refer to the Tier descriptions and required documentation for each. Tier 1 students are given first priority for placement in each class. 

Five elementary schools offer the VPK program: Dickson Elementary School, Oakmont Elementary School, Stuart-Burns Elementary School, Vanleer Elementary School, and White Bluff Elementary School.

For more information regarding either of these programs, please contact Dickson County Early Learning Specialist- Brooke Parham at (615) 446-2085 or email [email protected]
© 2023. Dickson County School District. All Rights Reserved.